Ajit Pawar May Return as Deputy CM, Aaditya Thackeray To Join Maharashtra Cabinet As Uddhav Expands Team

1 min read

Aaditya, the first from his family to taste electoral success, is likely to get the environment or higher education ministry.

NCP leader Ajit Pawar, who had joined hands with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in an overnight coup to become deputy chief minister for 48 hours, is set to make a dramatic return on Monday as the Maharashtra cabinet is set for expansion.

The NCP had been tight-lipped about Ajit Pawar’s role after he staged a rebellion to support the BJP but returned to his mentor and uncle Sharad Pawar in a matter of just 80 hours, leading to the fall of the Devendra Fadnavis government.

Recently, when NCP supremo Sharad Pawar was asked if Ajit would become deputy CM in the Shiv Sena-Congress-NCP combine — known as the Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi — he refused to make any clarification.

Ajit, on his part, had denied that he had engineered a revolt. “It was not a revolt. I was the leader of NCP. Did NCP remove me? Did you read (about my removal from NCP) somewhere? I have been telling all that I was in the NCP, I am in NCP and will be in NCP.”

The Uddhav Thackeray-led cabinet has six ministers besides the chief minister.

Another key name to be sworn in on Monday is Aaditya Thackeray, who became the first from his family to taste electoral success. Aaditya is likely to get the environment or higher education ministry.

Meanwhile, the Congress too came out with its list of ministers who will take oath on Monday. This includes 10 leaders, including Ashok Chavan, Amit Vilasrao Deshmukh and Varsha Eknath Gaikwad.

List Of Probable Congress Ministers

Thorat and Nitin Raut of the Congress, Eknath Shinde and Subhash Desai of the Shiv Sena and Jayant Patil and Chhagan Bhujbal of the NCP took oath along with Thackeray on November 28.

The BJP and Sena, which fought the assembly polls in alliance, had secured a comfortable majority by winning 105 and 56 seats, respectively, in the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly. However, the state witnessed a political crisis after the Sena broke its three-decade-long ties with the BJP after the latter declined to share the chief minister’s post.

An irate Sena then joined hands with the NCP and Congress to form a government headed by Uddhav Thackeray, who took oath as CM on November 28.

According to the power-sharing formula agreed on by the three parties, the Shiv Sena would have 16 ministers (apart from chief minister), NCP 14 and the Congress 12.(News 18)

Latest from Archives