Assembly elections in five states: Polling to begin from Nov 7, counting on Dec 3

1 min read

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday announced the schedule for holding assembly polls in five states–Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, MP, Telangana and Mizoram beginning from November 7.

“Mizoram will go to the polls on November 7, while Chhattisgarh will vote in two phases on November 7 and 17.

Voting will be held in Madhya Pradesh on November 17, Rajasthan on November 23, and Telangana on November 30.” said Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv Kumar here.

The counting of votes will take place on December 3.

Rajiv Kumar said nearly 16 crore voters will be eligible to vote in the Assembly elections.

The CEC said these five states will have 1.77 lakh polling stations. Of these, 1.01 lakh stations will have webcasting facilities. Over 8,000 polling stations will be managed by women.

There will be 8.2 crore male and 7.8 crore female voters to exercise their franchise in the elections, he said, adding there are 60.2 lakh first-time voters.

“As we stand on the cusp of elections in these states, it is worth noting that these polls hold a unique significance for the residents of these states and also for the nation,” said Rajiv Kumar.

He added that “We have met all stakeholders, including political parties and enforcement agencies before announcing the schedule”.

The CEC said that it has placed special emphasis on making electoral rolls inclusive, and the focus will also be on “roll-to-poll” to ensure that all voters come to vote.

Mr Rajiv Kumar said citizens can report any kind of electoral malpractice to the ECI through the cVigil App.

“For every complaint, there will be a response in 100 minutes,” he added.

‘With over 940 inter-state border check posts in five states, we will be able to check any cross-border movement of illicit cash, liquor, freebies and drugs, ” the CEC said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from National