BCCI announces hike in prize money for men’s, women’s domestic tournaments

1 min read

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday announced a major increase in prize money for the senior men’s and women’s domestic tournaments.

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said that while prize money for men has increased between 60 per cent and 300 per cent, the two women’s events have seen an increase of more than 700 per cent.

The prize money for the Ranji Trophy champion team has been increased from Rs 2 crore to Rs 5 crore while the losing teams in the final and semi finals will be given Rs 3 crore (earlier Rs 1 crore) and Rs 1 crore (earlier Rs 50 lakh) respectively.

The prize money of domestic ODI tournament Vijay Hazare Trophy has been increased from Rs 30 lakh to Rs 1 crore while the runner-up will be given Rs 50 lakh instead of Rs 15 lakh.

The domestic T20 tournament Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy has seen the biggest increase in prize money where the winner will be awarded Rs 80 lakh (previously Rs 25 lakh) and the runner-up will be awarded Rs 40 lakh (previously Rs 10 lakh).

The champions and runners-up of the Women’s Senior ODI and T20 Trophy will finally start earning significant prize money.

As a result, the women’s ODI champion team will be awarded Rs 50 lakh (previously Rs 6 lakh) while the T20 champion team will be awarded Rs 40 lakh (previously Rs 5 lakh).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Sports