Bollywood stars queue up with fans to cast votes in Mumbai

1 min read

Bollywood celebrities along with their families stepped out of their homes early Monday to vote in the Lok Sabha elections. Polling has been underway at 13 Lok Sabha constituencies of Maharashtra, including six in Mumbai.

Poet-filmmaker and Oscar laureate Gulzar and other celebs including Sonali Bendre, Tabu, Farhan Akhtar, Anil Kapoor, Zoya Akhtar, Suniel Shetty, Dharmendra, Hema Malini, Esha Deol, Govind Ahuja, Paresh Raval, Shubha Khote, Akshay Kumar, Jahnvi Kapoor, Shabana Azmi and others cast their votes at different polling stations in Mumbai and its suburban areas.

Bollywood’s ‘Khiladi’ Akshay Kumar stepped out early to cast his vote in the Lok Sabha elections in Mumbai. This is the first time for Akshay after he returned his Canadian citizenship.

The 56-year-old, who was a Canadian national (2011-2023), acquired his Indian citizenship last year. He made it a point to proudly point up his inked finger and appealed to the masses to come out and vote in large numbers.

Leading by example, Shiv Sena (UBT) President and former CM Uddhav Thackeray along with wife Rashmi, sons Tejas and Aditya came out to vote at a polling station in Bandra east.

For the first time, Balasaheb Thackeray’s son is understood to have voted for a Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) ally and Congress candidate Prof. Varsha Gaikwad, who is pitted against Bharatiya Janata Party’s Ujjwal Nikam in Mumbai North Central seat.

“People are fed up with all the ‘jumla-baazi’ and are voting for a change? We are confident of getting more than 40 of the 48 seats in Maharashtra,” asserted Thackeray in a brief encounter with mediapersons, while son Aditya said that he voted in the interest of the country.

Estranged cousin and Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) President Raj Thackeray, with his wife Sharmila and family went to a polling station in Dadar and cast his vote, also did former Union Minister Ram Naik with family in Goregaon, and Kapil Patil voted in Borivali.

The candidates of the various major parties like Congress’ Prof. Varsha Gaikwad and Bhushan Patil, Shiv Sena (UBT)’s Arvind Sawant, Anil Y. Desai, Sanjay Dina Patil, Amol G. Kirtikar, BJP’s Ujjwal Nikam, Piyush Goyal, Mihir Kotecha, Shiv Sena’s Ravindra Waikar, Yamini Y. Jadhav, Rahul Shewale, and other nominees of different parties or Independents cast their votes.

Many of the candidates urged the people to come out and vote as it is their duty and responsibility to the nation even as serpentine queues were witnessed outside many polling stations in the city and suburbs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Entertainment