Diana Baig returns as Pakistan name squads for South Africa series

1 min read

 Pakistan have named two 15-member squads for their upcoming home white-ball series against South Africa, starting September 1.

The home side will be bolstered by the return of star pacer Diana Baig to both squads after her recovery from a finger injury. South Africa’s tour of Pakistan consists of three ODIs and three

T20Is. The three ODIs will be a part of the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25 cycle.

Baig returns to the fold after a prolonged absence from a finger injury. The injury kept her out of the game for more than six months, an ICC report said.

Pakistan have also handed a call-up to 18-year-old Shawaal Zulfiqar in the T20I squad. Zulfiqar is also a part of Pakistan’s squad for the upcoming Asian Games in China. Spinner Syeda Aroob Shah also returns to the fold in T20Is after three years, having last featured for Pakistan in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020.

Natalia Parvez also gets her first call-up in the T20I side after 2018 and is also kept as a reserve in the ODI squad. Uncapped wicketkeeper-batter Najiha Alvi is also included in the T20I side.

In the ODI squad, Umm-e-Hani and Waheeda Akhtar have been included replacing Ayesha Naseem and Kainat Imtiaz. Naseem recently announced her retirement from international cricket.

Both the squads will be led by Nida Dar, who took over the captaincy from Bismah Maroof after she stepped down from the leadership position after the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup this year in South Africa.

The white-ball series will be played between September 1 to 14, with all the matches taking place at the National Bank Stadium in Karachi.

Pakistan ODI squad: Nida Dar (c), Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Muneeba Ali, Nashra Sundhu, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Umm-e-Hani and Waheeda Akhtar.

Reserves – Najiha Alvi, Natalia Parvaiz and Tuba Hassan

Pakistan T20I squad: Nida Dar (c), Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Muneeba Ali, Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Shawaal Zulfiqar, Sidra Amin, Syeda Aroob Shah and Umm-e-Hani.

Reserves – Anoosha Nasir, Omaima Sohail and Waheeda Akhtar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Sports