Lok Sabha Speaker, Indian delegation visits UAE

1 min read
ABU DHABI, FEB 21 (UNI):- Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla met Speaker of the Federal National Council of UAE H E Saqr Ghobash, in Abu Dhabi on Monday.

Abu Dhabi, (UNI): Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla met Speaker of the Federal National Council of UAE Saqr Gobash here Monday along with a Parliamentary delegation from India. Speaking on the occasion, Birla after the visit of Prime Minister, Narendra Modi in 2015, a new momentum was set in the bilateral relations between India and UAE which was further strengthened after Comprehensive Strategic Partnership in 2017.

Birla noted with satisfaction that relations between India and UAE have grown in all spheres – politics, trade, investment, defence, security, energy and culture or people-to-people ties. Recalling the 5th World Conference of Speakers last year, Birla said there were detailed discussions on furthering bilateral cooperation for mutual interest and on extending our friendship to other areas.

Expressing confidence on the future ties between the countries, Birla said that India and UAE can further strengthen cooperation in new and emerging areas such as renewable energy, Artificial Intelligence, sustainable economy, health – tech and edu-tech. He also thanked the UAE for their support to the Indian community here during the Covid pandemic.

Mentioning that that bilateral trade has been a pillar of strength in the relationship between the two countries, Lok Sabha Speaker referred to the Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA), the trade pact between India and the United Arab Emirates during a virtual summit led by Prime Minister Modi and Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

He expressed confidence that the pact would give a new height to the economic relationship between India and UAE. Earlier, Birla, along with the Indian Parliamentary Delegation visited Wahat Al Karama, or the “the Oasis of Dignity”, in Abu Dhabi, today, and paid tributes to the brave soldiers of UAE and other Emiratis. He remembered their sacrifices in the service of their nation.

The delegation includes MPs Sushil Kumar Modi, Fauzia Tahseen Ahmed Khan, M.K. Vishnu Prasad, P. Ravindhranath, Shankar Lalwani and Sujay Radhakrishna Vikhepatil and Secretary General Lok Sabha Utpal Kumar Singh, and Joint Secretary Ajay Kumar.

Latest from Archives