Non-violence biggest strength of democracy: Yogi

1 min read

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Monday paid floral tributes to the statue of Mahatma Gandhi at Town Hall in Gorakhpur and former prime minister Lal Bahadur Shastri’s statue at Shastri Chowk on the occasion of their birth anniversaries.

Yogi also reached Gandhi Ashram in Golghar and remembered Bapu by spinning on a charkha. After watching spin yarn in Gandhi Ashram, he also sought information from those engaged, observed the products of Khadi and village industries and also bought some Khadi clothes.

Recalling Mahtama Gandhi’s messages of truth and non-violence at Gandhi Ashram, the CM said that the world was witness to the strength of non-violence under the leadership of the Father of the Nation, describing it as the biggest strength of democracy.

He said that the entire country is paying homage to the great leader Mahatma Gandhi on his 154th birth anniversary.

Yogi said, “Bapu showed the path of truth and non-violence to the world. We can win over the biggest powers of the world by following democratic principles. Following Swadeshi, truth and non-violence, Mahatma Gandhi forced the autocratic British regime to leave the country.”

He said that the ‘Swachhajanli’ programme, which is going on in all the gram panchayats and local bodies within the state on the call of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, draws its inspiration from the campaign led by Mahatma Gandhi.

Yogi said that apart from self-reliance, Swadeshi, truth, and non-violence, cleanliness was also of great importance to Mahatma Gandhi and he advocated these values to the society.

The CM also paid tribute to the country’s second Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri.

He said that Shastri, who gave the slogan of ‘Jai Jawan-Jai Kisan’ and called for self-reliance along with security, was also a great follower of Bapu.

He urged people to remember both the leaders on this occasion for their unforgettable contribution towards the country and society.

On this occasion, MP Ravikishan Shukla, Mayor Dr Manglesh Srivastava, MLA Vipin Singh, Pradeep Shukla, MLC Dr Dharmendra Singh, BJP Regional President Sahajanand Rai, District President Yudhishthir Singh, Metropolitan President Rajesh Gupta were present.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Regional