Punjab CM Channi to contest from two seats, declared candidate from Bhadaur

1 min read

New Delhi, (UNI) Congress on Sunday released its third list of candidates for Punjab fielding Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi from a second seat – Bhadaur. Channi is also fighting the poll from Chamkaur Sahib seat, where he is the sitting MLA.

The list contains names of eight candidates, including the incumbent chief minister. Two of the eight seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste, Bhadaur, and Attari.

Tarsem Singh Sialka is the party candidate from Attari. From Patiala, the seat of former chief minister Amarinder Singh, the party is fielding former Patiala mayor Vishnu Sharma.

He was considered to be close to the Singh, who quit Congress and founded his party Punjab Lok Congress. Former union minister Pawan Kumar Bansal’s son Manish Bansal has been fielded from the Barnala assembly constituency. Sukhpal Singh Bhullar is its candidate from Khem Karan. In Punjab, AAP has emerged as the main challenger to ruling Congress.

Former chief minister Amarinder Singh who launched his own party Punjab Lok Congress is fighting the polls in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Sukhdev Dhindsa’s SAD-Sanyukt, while the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) has allied with Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Polling in Punjab will be held on February 20.

Latest from Archives