Why Kashmiri Separatist, Shabir Shah Wants APHC To Be Reconstituted

1 min read

‘Rise above personal gains, save ‘pious freedom movement’

The Legitimate Desk

File Photo: Shabir Shah
File Photo: Shabir Shah

Srinagar: The incarcerated chairman of Democratic Freedom Party (DFP) Shabir Ahmad Shah, who is also the general secretary of Hurriyat (G) today appealed the resistance leaders Syed Ali Geelani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, and Muhammad Yasin Malik to come to a single platform by reconstituting the All Parties Hurriyat Conference (APHC) saying the “pious” freedom movement is “the mission of martyrs and above anyone’s personal gains”.

Shah said the move should be initiated as per the wishes and aspirations of the people of the disputed region.

Addressing Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Yasin Malik, Shah said: “Now, as you have acknowledged the single leadership, issue joint programme after mutual consultation with Syed Ali Geelani Sahib, and have buried the past differences, why not reconstitute a single Hurriyat to fulfill the longstanding wish of the people of Jammu Kashmir.”

“To our immense satisfaction, the movement is moving forward under the leadership of Syed Ali Geelani and we want to add this milestone (of reconstituting the APHC) to the history of our freedom movement. We are the heirs of our martyrs and guardians of their invaluable sacrifices and to accomplish their mission is our agenda,” Shah added.

The pro-freedom leader said the Jammu Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF), Jama’at-e-Islami, Bar Association, Umat-e-Islami, Jamiat Ahle Hadith, and several social, political, and religious organisations were the constituents of the All Parties Hurriyat Conference (APHC) but “due to some unwanted and foregone circumstances these parties separated themselves from the conglomerate”.

“Now, the unity among the pro-freedom leadership has paved way for all these groups to assemble under the same umbrella of APHC while keeping their individual identities intact. After all, we’re fighting for the same goal and situation is also favourable,” he said.

Interestingly, the ongoing agitation was headed by the three separatist leaders including Mohammad Yasin Malik, Mirwaiz Umer Farooq and Syed Ali Geelani.

So far in the fifth month of unrest triggered by the killing of top militant commander Burhan Muzaffer Wani on July 8, there has been no direct involvement of other separatist leaders in the resistance movement. (With inputs from PTK)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Archives