4th Edition Of Kashmir World Film Festival Concludes In Srinagar

1 min read

Srinagar: The 4th Edition of Kashmir World Film Festival (KWFF) concluded on Tuesday with the screening of a film made in Kashmir ‘Laila Majnu’ at Tagore Hall.

The festival was presented by Zee TV and Zee Cinema networks.

The guests who were present on the occasion and distributed the awards include DC Srinagar Syed Abid Rashid Shah, Deputy Director Tourism Reyaz Ahmad, Commissioner Srinagar Municipal Corporation Peerzada Hafizullah Shah, General Manager BSNL Mufti Musharib Gul, CEO Gulmarg Development Authority (GDA) Hanief Balkhi and Chairman Kashmir Hoteliers Club Mushtaq Ahmad Chaya.

Film Actors Yuvraj Kumar and Rippy Koul were felicitated while Cricketer, Manzoor Pandow was honoured.

In a statement to Valley Media Service, on the occasion results of the films screened in the seven day film festival were also announced. The prizes were distributed in three sections National, International and Kashmiri.

In National’s category Beautiful Me by Nupur Sandhu won the best Experimental film award, The Story of a race against time (Kotpad Weaving) by Bishwanath Rath won the award for Short Documentary, Kul Gov Garam By Arif Mushtaq Mir won the award for Short Fiction Film, however the special Jury Award was given to Talk to me Precious by Sabarivasan Shanmugan, Aalorukkam By V C Abhilash for best Feature Fiction Film and the special jury award was given to Sadho By Danish Iqbal and Aamo Aakha Ekse By Pratibha Sharma for best Feature Length Doc.

In International Section the award for Short Fiction was won by ‘The Fear of Silence’ (Bhoy) by Zuarijah Mou of Bangladesh, Short Fiction (Jury’s Special) was won by ‘The Illusion Seller’ (Khayolfurush) by Sharofat Arabova of Tajikistan, Feature Fiction Film award was given to ‘Haldaa’ by Tauquir Ahmad of Bangladesh.

The award for the best Film in ‘Kashmir Section’ was won by ‘The Stitch’ (Teab) by Aasiya Zahoor.

The mementos were also presented to the sponsors and supporters of the Kashmir World Film Festival.

Syed Humayun Qaiser, Om Prakash Sharma, Haneef Shaikh and Gulzar Ganai from the Management Committee and Ashok Kaul, Nagesh Bhonlse and Sarvdeep Singh were honoured on the closing ceremony.

Festival Director and Founder, Mushtaaque Ali Ahmad Khan while addressing the audience said he is a bit contended by today’s response. “I hope it increases manifolds in future as well.”

“I will try my level best to conduct these film festivals till the end of my life and also I will leave a team behind who will hold these film festivals even after my life,” said Mushtaaque Ali Khan.(VMS)

Latest from Archives