About 13 pc polling until 10 am in Chhattisgarh

1 min read

An estimated 13 per cent voting was recorded until 10 am on Friday in Chhattisgarh where exercise of franchise is underway amid heavy security arrangements across 70 Assembly constituencies in the second and final phase of polling.

Official sources provided the district-wise break-up as Korba 11 percent, Koriya 10, Gariaband 17, Gaurale-Pendra-Marwahi (a three-part name of a single district) 12, Jashpur 12, Janjgir-Champa 12, Durg 11, Dhamtari 8, Balrampur 14, Balodabazar-Bhatapara 10, Balod 10, Bilaspur 10, Bemetara 16, Manendragarh-Chirmiri-Bharatpur 11, Mahasamund 12, Mungeli 7, Raigarh 10, Raipur 13, Sakti 8, Surguja 12, Sarangarh 12 and Surajpur 13.

The polling centres number 18,833 and the timings are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. barring nine places in Leftwing extremism-affected Bindranawagarh constituency where the timings are 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Webcasting has been arranged at 9,424 centres and videography at hypersensitive ones.

The 1,63,14,479-strong electorate includes 81,72,171 women and 684 of the third gender. The fortunes of 958 candidates including 130 women and one of the third gender are being sealed in electronic voting machines.

The prominent nominees include Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel (Patan), his deputy Tribhuvaneshwar Saran Singh Deo (Ambikapur), Vidhan Sabha Speaker Charan Das Mahant (Sakti), BJP state President Arun Sao (Lormi), Janata Congress head Renu Jogi (Kota) and Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs Renuka Singh Saruta (Bharatpur-Sonhat).

Counting is slated for December 3.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Regional