Sri Lanka name 15-player women squad for home series against New Zealand

1 min read

Veteran opener Chamari Athapaththu has once again been named captain for Sri Lanka’s three-game ODI series against New Zealand that commences later this month.

Sri Lanka named a 15-player squad for the three 50-over contests on Friday, with Athapaththu unsurprisingly retaining her place as skipper for the ICC Women’s Championship contests.

The Sri Lanka squad features a bevy of quality spinners, with experienced trio Inoka Ranaweera, Sugandika Kumari and Oshadi Ranasinghe all likely to feature and the likes of Inoshi Fernando, Kavisha Dilhari and Athapaththu herself other slow bowling options, the ICC reported.

Teenager Vishmi Gunaratne is retained in the squad and is likely to partner Athapaththu at the top of the batting order, while Udeshika Prabodhani and 20-year-old Kawya Kavindi are among the pace bowlers available.

The first match of the ODI series commences in Galle on June 27, with three T20Is to take place in Colombo following the 50-over contests.

Sri Lanka squad: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Vishmi Gunaratne, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Anushka Sanjeewani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Kawya Kavindi, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Hansima Karunaratne, Inoshi Fernando, Imesha Dulani, Hasini Perera.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Sports